Wednesday, July 9, 2014

What Happened to Good Ole' Customer Service?

It's that time again! 
Time for me to share my latest thoughts on good ole' fashioned manners...or lack thereof! 

Today, the topic is Customer Service. Now, I'm no expert and I do not work in the food or service 
industry, but my mind has been blown as of late in regards to what is becoming normal in public restaurants and stores. What happened to having common sense and good manners?


Up first, how employees treat each other in front of the customer. I was at a coffee shop a few months ago and the two girls behind the counter were talking LOUDLY and very poorly about the behaviors of a coworker that was not present. I was baffled. There was a HUGE line of customers and they were just airing their dirty laundry for everyone, and I mean everyone to hear. That was not the place or time and frankly, I called upper management and complained. It made my coffee taste bad. 

If you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all....and if you really have a problem, go talk to your boss, not the general public. Thanks. 

Moving on...

I was at a gas station filling up my car and I went inside to buy a water bottle. As I was paying, the cashier was very nice and friendly. Then something weird happened. Another cashier working the other side of the counter accidentally bumped into her as she was reaching for something. Then my cashier rolled her BIG BROWN EYES like it was the end of the world. The other cashier apologized sweetly and moved on with her job. My girl, seemingly irritated, gave her a dirty look after her apology, rolled her eyes again and went back to her job. Now, I'm sure this was not the first time this had happened, but my goodness, there were several customers watching. It made me feel so badly for the other girl who tried to do the right thing by apologizing, but this lady wouldn't have it. It wasn't good enough for her. What happened to having a little grace when others make mistakes?  I will not be going back to that gas station, and if I were the other cashier, I'd be looking for a new job. 


Okay, here's another one I have seen too many times. 
One or two employees doing all of the work while others just sit around on their phones or watch. 

Yikes. Growing up in my house, it was an expectation that we all helped until the work was done. There were no her jobs or my jobs, etc. We all lived under the same roof and had the same goal...a clean and functional house. When I see this in work places it lights my fire! How can employees watch others work their butts off and not offer to help? How can they sit and play on their phones while others are busting their tail and still get paid for it? They all have the same goal right? They all want the business to succeed right?  Call me old fashioned, but when I see that someone needs help, I always offer to help. I can't stand watching others work while I'm not. Who cares if its not my job...many hands make the work lighter. Right? So, here's to offering to help even when it's not your job, or you're tired, or even if you don't really care for that person, always offer to help and have a servants heart..not a selfish heart. 



Okay, that e-Card is a little strong, but I'm almost done here...:) I promise. 


Let's talk a little about the cleanliness of restaurants. Now, I know that there are certain requirements that employees must adhere to such as wearing gloves, etc. 
But what about the etiquette of sweeping and cleaning tables? 
It drives me absolutely up a wall when I am sitting and having a meal and an employee (with good intentions) comes by and sweeps under my table! It makes me feel like all of the dirt they are sweeping up is flying onto my food. Not good. Sweeping should not happen around tables while people are eating. End of story. 

Also, there have been several restaurants lately that have had a lack of clean tables. There have been so many times that I've either had to ask someone to wipe down a table or have had to get a napkin and wipe off my own table. This is unacceptable. Even if this is a McDonald's, there should always be clean tables for customers. Can I get an Amen?



My final rant has to do with grocery stores....well just one aspect of grocery stores. 
Now I have to start off by saying that this does not happen at all grocery stores. You see, my dad and grandfather were both in the grocery business for many years and they were very particular about how their groceries were bagged. First of all, the customer should NEVER be bagging their own groceries. I have done this too many times as of late and it's not acceptable. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind doing it, but it ruins the whole shopping experience! Am I right? :) 

When it comes to how the food is placed into bags, there have been several times that items are just thrown into bags with no thought. My dad always said, cold with cold, produce with produce, boxes with boxes, frozen with frozen, eggs by themselves...double bagged, cans in paper bags, etc. Now this makes sense! Maybe its just me but its super frustrating to unload groceries in random order. I like to know that my groceries that I just paid a fortune for will make it home without breaking, cracking or spoiling! My dad would be proud of this moment right here, so if you see a bagger doing it "wrong," gently encourage them to put similar items in the same bag. Easy. 

That's all for now. I could go on and on but I will save the rest for another day! 

Happy Wednesday! Here's to Restoring Refinement...one reader at a time! 

-Karle 









Monday, July 7, 2014

Do Actions Really Speak LOUDER than Words?


Growing up, I remember hearing this phrase from many adults in my life. While I do believe that actions are important, I am being reminded daily of the importance of words. 

When listening to how others talk, I am more than convinced that how and what is said describes the personality and heart of the person. 

Now, when I say "words," this has several different meanings and let me explain myself. It can be the overuse of words, the single use of words, or the lack of words. 

For example, my poor sister and husband are SOOOOOO tired of me correcting their overuse of words. For my sister its "like." Like, one time, we were like, at the mall, and like we didn't even buy anything that was like, cute! WHOOOOAAAA. Too much. I've even caught myself saying this word waaayyyy too much! I love my sister, but we had to talk and I had to tell her...when you say that ALLL the time between EVERY word, its not only distracting, but you're not sounding as smart as you really are! Not a fun conversation, but we've both vowed to catch each other when saying "like!" When I speak, personally, I would like to put my best foot forward and sound intelligent. :) 


On to the next two overused words..."ummm" and "guys." Super annoying. My husband is the king of using "umm" and I have caught myself and others using the word "guys" way too often and for the wrong audience. I feel like "umm" is a thought filler and when used too much, it sounds like you have no idea what you're talking about or where your thoughts are going. I think its better to have silence than use that word. Just saying. 

The word "guys" on the other hand I have been keenly aware of as of late. When I was completing my college internship in a first grade classroom, I actually got points taken off of my evaluation for using the word "guys" instead of "boys and girls." At the time I didn't see the problem, but now I see it. When addressing an audience of children or adults for that matter, although it is common place to say "guys" when speaking to the whole, they are not all guys...many are women or girls...so needless to say, don't say "guys" if you're not talking to a room full of guys! 


My next little word "pet peeve" would have to be women that curse. It's not lady like, it's not "cool" and honestly, it's just plain unattractive. There is nothing more unprofessional or uncomfortable than being around a woman who has a foul mouth. I can remember vividly when I was on vacation last year and was relaxing in our condo's pool. There was a a group of 20-something girls shop talking and I can't tell you how non-relaxing it was to overhear their conversation. I couldn't even count on two hands how many curse words they let fly...and around children and older adults. Honestly, it was repulsive and just plain rude. Suffice it to say, I left the pool and went somewhere a little more calming. Now, I don't say this to bash anyone who has let a curse word fly, but I challenge you, especially if you are a "lady" to be conscious of your speech. I can't imagine Mother Theresa or Maya Angelou freely cursing in the presence of so many people who look to them for guidance. Your speech should enhance who you are and should inspire others....


"Speech is the mirror of the soul; as a man speaks, so he is." 

-Publilius Syrus 


My final refinement goal in the area of words and speech is that of having a conversation. Since the use of technology has taken over our world, I am seeing so many people who do not know how to converse.  First things first, there should be eye contact. It is so rude to speak to someone and not look at them. It seems like you are not interested or paying attention to what the person is saying. I see this  often with individuals on their cell phones who are trying to have a conversation at the same time...Hmmm...not really two way speech. 
Also, what happened to the art of asking questions? Conversation is like a ping pong match. There should be questions asked by both parties in order to stimulate conversation! I can't even describe how irritating it is to try and have a "conversation" with someone who asks you no questions about your life or with one that talks completely about theirs. Honestly, it's not really a conversation...


con·verse

1  [v. kuhn-vursn. kon-vurs]  
verb (used without object), con·versed, con·vers·ing.
   
to talk informally with another or others; exchange views,opinions, etc., by talking


EXCHANGE. That is the key word. A conversation is an exchange.


With all of that being said, I'm hoping that I can challenge at least one person to become more conscious of spoken words. Feel free to leave a comment below about your positive/negative interactions/observations of others or your own personal speech! 

So let your words speak LOUDER than your actions, 
and together we can Restore Refinement...one word at a time! 

-Karle